Hardly Perfect – Rowenta Aqua Perfect HU5220 Humidifier, Black

PROS

-Awesome design
-Easy to use touch screen
-Easy to fill with included water handle
-Screen will dim to ensure you get a good night’s sleep
-Fairly-quiet
-Solidly-built

CONS

-Inaccurate humidistat readings leads to either your room turning into a desert or rainforest
-Inaccurate temperature readings plays a role in ensuring you will never get the device to turn on and off at the correct levels to maintain optimum humidity
-Horrible customer service
-Pricy – I expected something well-designed to last me years

I regret buying this humidifier! Sure, it may look all cool and futuristic, but it is designed very poorly. The humidistat sensor is way too close to the device, so you will get inaccurate readings ALL THE TIME. I tried putting a dry towel over the sensor to fix the inaccurate, high-humidity readings – to no avail. I tried turning it off and on. I re-read the instruction manual. Nothing could fix it.

I got external hygrometers and they read about the same level of humidity as each other while the reading on the Rowenta was WAY off.

Why is having an accurate humidistat reading important on a humidifier? Well, it will ensure it maintains the correct level of humidity in your room. This piece of garbage would stop when it was clearly too dry and would stay on when it was too humid – thereby making me both uncomfortable and vulnerable to mold and mildew.

Thinking I may have received a dud, Amazon kindly sent me a replacement, but then I had the same problems. I’ve concluded that it is a design flaw.

I further gave the huimidifier the benefit of the doubt and I sent mine back to Rowenta for repair. A few weeks later, I get a package with my humidifier. No letter, no email, no phone – nothing! Then they have the audacity to send me a survey asking how their customer service is.

I rarely write reviews for some things I strongly dislike – I’ll usually suck it up and deal with it or return it with no problem. However, the poor design of this product and even worse customer service is unacceptable!

I encourage everyone to AVOID this humidifier at all costs – you’ll waste precious time and money like I did. If this was simply a bad product and had excellent customer service, I would still give them the benefit of the doubt and try their other product lines.

However, due to the worst customer service I’ve ever seen, I will without hesitation recommend that you DO NOT BUY Rowenta products!

Overall Rating: 0/5 Stars

Leave a comment